Press enter to see results or esc to cancel.

When, Why And How To Use Reset Network Settings in iOS 8

Last updated: September 28, 2014 at 21:28 pm

Reset Network Settings is a common option you will find in your Settings menu. In this beginner’s guide we will explain you the advantages of resetting network on iPhone and iPad and then walk you through the exact steps for a safe network reset.

What Is It?

Select “Reset Network Settings” and you are essentially telling your device to erase every network-related changes. This includes the current cellular data, WiFi network settings, list of connected networks, WiFi passwords, APN, VPN settings.

If you are into networking, you may know that Windows has a common to flush the DNS cache. Reset Network Settings does exactly that — it flushes out the DNS cache, and while doing so, fixes many problems as well.

Common question: Will “Reset Network Setting” delete contacts, photos, data, apps or any other data? Absolutely not! Everything on your iOS 8 device will remain as it is. Just remember all your network settings will be deleted (read the next section).

When to Use

After using the Reset Network Settings, you will notice the passwords are deleted, WiFi network list isn’t available anymore. Configured profiles of Access Point Network and Virtual Private Network are gone, and passwords of WiFi must be entered again to connect to the Internet.

In iOS 8 and earlier firmwares, the Reset Network Settings is extremely useful as it fixes major network problems. Use this option when:

  • iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch cannot connect to the Internet.
  • iOS 8 has issues with WiFi connectivity.
  • You want to fix bugs related to iMessage and FaceTime
  • There are problems with Bluetooth connectivity
    WiFi button is grayed out
  • You have problems with VPN and APN settings
  • You cannot pair any Bluetooth accessory with your device

Note: Resetting Network doesn’t modify any carrier network settings. Your device will automatically detect the current network.

How to Use It

  • Go to Settings menu
  • Click on General
  • Scroll down and select Reset
  • Tap on Reset Network Settings

Next, a box appears at the bottom of the screen, which says “This will delete all network settings, returning them to factory defaults.”

Reset-Network-Settings-iOS8
Final step of the “Reset Network Settings” option in iPhone, iOS 8

After selecting this option, the device will reboot and you will have to re-establish the lost home or office WiFi networks and their passwords once again.

Remember: Hard resetting iOS 8 devices erases all the stored content. Reset Network Setting only erases network-related content.

Note: Articles written at iOS8release.com are valid for every Apple device running iOS 8.0, iOS 8.1, iOS 8.2, iOS 8.3, iOS 8.4 / 8.4.1 firmware