Press enter to see results or esc to cancel.

Alert: Remember To Disable Apple Music Subscription To Avoid Unexpected Billing

Last updated: August 25, 2015 at 0:02 am

Apple Music offers a 3 month trial period for iPhones / iPads, in which you get access to all the music-related features. But what should you do after the trial period expires? Should you subscribe? Here’s the answer:

By default, Apple automatically subscribes you to the paid plan – so, in other words, if you are subscribed to the trial period, you are also subscribed to the premium plan. To expand this simple fact further: you won’t be billed for the first 3 months, but you will be automatically billed from the start of the fourth month and so on.

And that’s shocking to many. (I know “free trials” when expired turning into “paid” service is a common thing).

When Apple Music Subscription Expires

Say if you subscribed to Apple Music on June 30th, when Apple Music was released to public, then your first billing will happen on September 30th.

To avoid such surprises, and to make sure Apple Music doesn’t auto-renew and auto-debit money your credit card / debit card / PayPal – it’s time to act now, and act fast by…

Unsubscribing From Apple Music Membership

If you are absolutely sure that Apple Music is not for you, and you don’t want to chase after refunds after Apple bills you $9.99 on the fourth month, you can end your future subscription right away.

There are two ways to do this: First, from your iOS device. And the second from your computer (with iTunes player). We will discuss both these solutions here.

Solution #1: Unsubscribe From Apple Music Using iPhone / iPad

This is the simplest of all. Just make sure you have turned ON the WiFi/3G/4G on your iPhone / iPad, and then follow the procedure outlined below:

  1. 
Open Apple Music and tap on the Account icon in the upper left corner of the app.
  2. Now tap View Apple ID -> select Manage under Subscriptions.
  3. Tap Your Membership, which will take you to a new page like this.
  4. Turn the slider OFF (slider next to Automatic Renewal).
apple-music-billing
Step 1 of 2: On the Apple Music membership page in iPhone / iPad.

A new window will pop up asking you to confirm your decision to disable Apple Music. Select “Turn OFF” – and this will stop Apple from charging your account in the future.

turn-off-apple-music
Step 2 of 2: Selecting Turn Off to stop Apple Music membership.

Solution #2: Unsubscribe From Apple Music Using iTunes

If you are using a computer (Windows or Mac) with iTunes player installed, then you can disable Apple Music membership with a couple of clicks.

To get started, open iTunes player, and click your account button displayed on the top-right corner of the window with your name.

If you can’t find this, scroll down -> Account. Then enter your Apple ID’s password.

Once signed in, click on the Account icon which will bring a drop down menu. Select Account Info.

Under Settings menu, you will notice “Subscriptions” option.

Next to it is the Manage option. Clicking on Manage will show you all the account subscriptions linked to your Apple account.

It will also show Apple Music Membership. Next to that is the “Edit’ button. Tap on that and turn OFF automatic renewal. From the screenshot, you will notice we have turned OFF auto-renewal of our Apple Music membership.

Deactivating Apple Music membership via iTunes player.
Deactivating Apple Music membership via iTunes player.
Note: Articles written at iOS8release.com are valid for every Apple device running iOS 8.0, iOS 8.1, iOS 8.2, iOS 8.3, iOS 8.4 / 8.4.1 firmware