You will be surprised to know how much of data space can be retrieved by deleting old messages from your Apple iPhone. We were able to get 1.2GB of free space just by selectively erasing very old messages — which contained text messages, image attachments and video clips from group threads.
You think there is a lot of manual work involved? On Apple iOS 7 firmware, yes — you had to delete each message individually, and there was no option to “mark” all messages or delete the entire messages inbox in one click. But let us consider ourselves lucky, as iOS 8 is here to assist us.
A new option in iOS 8 allows you to permanently autodelete messages from your iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch. You, too, can take advantage of this “new” option. Do you want to? Yes? Let’s do it:
Autodelete Text Messages With iOS 8: Here’s How To Do It
Before we jump right into the process, let me tell you how the process works. You see, Messages app on iOS 8 has a new feature that allows you to automatically delete messages older than x number of days.
For example, you have the power to choose whether you want to delete messages older than 30 days or messages older than one year. You also have the option to keep all your text messages intact by selecting “Forever” option. Here are the simple steps you should follow to activate autodelete feature:
Step 1: Go to Settings
Step 2: Tap on Messages
Step 3: Select Keep Messages
Step 4: Choose “30 Days” or “One Year”
After selecting one option, messages will be deleted from your device. Say, for example, if you select 30 days option then all the messages that are at least a month old will be removed.
Note These Points
Note 1: Apple has introduced this exclusive feature just for iOS 8, which means only compatible devices can take advantage of this option (devices include iPhone 5s, 5c, 5, 4s, iPad 2 and over, and iPod Touch 5G)
Note 2: We are not sure if Apple stores videos, pictures, or SMSes on their server. Just remember that you are going to permanently delete messages, so look into the inbox twice and save important messages (if any) before activating the autodelete option.
Note 3: To see how much of storage space Messages app is using, go to Settings -> General -> Usage -> Messages.
Note 4: From our experience, messages are deleted slowly. The whole process is not instant.
Note 5: Selecting “Forever” option saves all your messages. This option is selected by default.